Theme From New York, New York - Gil Ventura - Sax Club N.16 (Vinyl, LP, Album)

Santana, however, was increasingly interested in moving beyond his love of blues and rock and wanted more jazzy, ethereal elements in the music. At the same time, Chepito Areas was stricken with a near-fatal brain hemorrhageand Santana hoped to continue by finding a temporary replacement first Willie Bobothen Coke Escovedowhile others in the band, especially Michael Carabello, felt it was wrong to perform publicly without Areas.

Cliques formed, and the band started to disintegrate. Consolidating the interest generated by their first album, and their highly acclaimed live performance at the Woodstock Festival in Augustthe band followed up with their second album, Abraxasin September The album's mix of rock, blues, jazz, salsa and other influences was very well received, showing a musical maturation from their first album and refining the band's early sound.

Abraxas spent six weeks at No. The band now boasted a powerful dual-lead-guitar act that gave the album a tougher sound. The sound of the band was also helped by the return of a recuperated Chepito Areas and the assistance of Coke Escovedo in the percussion section.

Enhancing the band's sound further was the support of popular Bay Area group Tower of Power 's horn sectionLuis Gasca of Maloand other session musicians which added to both percussion and vocals, injecting more energy to the proceedings. Santana III was another success, reaching No. Tension between members of the band continued, however.

Along with musical differences, drug use became a problem, and Santana was deeply worried that it was affecting the band's performance. Coke Escovedo encouraged Santana to take more control of the band's musical direction, much to the dismay of some of the others who thought that the band and its sound was a collective effort.

Also, financial irregularities were exposed while under the management of Stan Marcum, whom Bill Graham criticized as being incompetent. Growing resentments between Santana and Michael Carabello over lifestyle issues resulted in his departure on bad terms. David Brown later left due to substance abuse problems. In earlySantana and the remaining members of the band started working on their fourth album, Caravanserai. Also assisting on keyboards were Wendy Haas and Tom Coster. With the unsettling influx of new players in the studio, Gregg Rolie and Neal Schon decided that it was time to leave after the completion of the album, even though both contributed to the session.

Rolie returned home to Seattle; later, he and Schon became Theme From New York members of Journey. When Caravanserai did emerge init marked a strong change in musical direction towards jazz fusion. The album received critical praise, but CBS executive Clive Davis warned Santana and the band that it would sabotage the band's position as a " Top 40 " act. Nevertheless, over the years, the album achieved platinum status. InSantana became interested in the pioneering fusion band the Mahavishnu Orchestra and its guitarist, John McLaughlin.

Chinmoy accepted them as disciples in Santana was given the name Devadipmeaning "The lamp, light and eye of God". InSantana, having obtained legal rights to the band's name, Santanaformed a new version of the band with Armando Peraza and Chepito Areas on percussion, Doug Rauch on bass, Michael Shrieve on drums, and Tom Coster and Richard Kermode on keyboards. Santana later was able to recruit jazz vocalist Leon Thomas for the tour supporting Caravanserai in Japan on July 3 and 4,which was recorded for the live, sprawling, high-energy triple vinyl LP fusion album Lotus.

CBS records would not allow its release unless the material was condensed. Santana did not agree to those terms, and Lotus was available in the U. The group later went into the studio and recorded Welcomewhich further reflected Santana's interests in jazz fusion and his increasing commitment to the spiritual life of Sri Chinmoy.

Soon after, Santana replaced his band members again. This time Kermode, Thomas and Rauch departed from the group and were replaced by vocalist Leon Patillo later a successful Contemporary Christian artist and returning bassist David Brown. He also recruited soprano saxophonist, Jules Broussard for the lineup. The band recorded one studio album Borbolettawhich was released in Drummer Leon "Ndugu" Chancler later joined the band as a replacement for Michael Shrievewho left to pursue a solo career.

By this time, Bill Graham 's management company had assumed responsibility for the affairs of the group. Graham was critical of Santana's move into jazz and felt he needed to concentrate on getting Santana back into the charts with the edgy, streetwise ethnic sound that had made them famous. Santana himself was seeing that the group's direction was alienating many fans.

Although the albums and performances were given good reviews by critics in jazz and jazz fusion circles, sales had plummeted. The album received considerable airplay on FM album-oriented rock stations with the instrumental " Europa Earth's Cry Heaven's Smile " and re-introduced Santana to the charts.

The albums conceived through the late s followed the same formula, although with several lineup changes. Among the new personnel who joined was current percussionist Raul Rekow, who joined in early Most notable of the band's commercial efforts of this era was a version of the s Zombies hit, " She's Not There ", on the double album Moonflower. The pressures and temptations of being a high-profile rock musician and requirements of the spiritual lifestyle which guru Sri Chinmoy and his followers demanded were in conflict, and imposed considerable stress upon Santana's lifestyle and marriage.

He was becoming increasingly disillusioned with what he thought were the unreasonable rules that Chinmoy imposed on his life, and in particular with his refusal to allow Santana and Deborah to start a family.

He felt too that his fame was being used to increase the guru's visibility. Santana and Deborah eventually ended their relationship with Chinmoy in More radio-friendly singles followed from Santana and the band. The album's guests included Booker T. Santana again paid tribute to his early rock roots by doing the film score to La Bambawhich was based on the life of rock and roll legend Ritchie Valens and starred Lou Diamond Phillips.

The band Santana returned in with a new album, Beyond Appearancesand two years later with Freedom. Growing weary of trying to appease record company executives with formulaic hit records, Santana took great pleasure in jamming and making guest appearances with notables such as the jazz fusion group Weather Reportjazz pianist McCoy TynerBlues legend John Lee HookerFrank Franklin, Living Colour guitarist Vernon Reidand West African singer Salif Keita. He and Mickey Hart of the Grateful Dead later recorded and performed with Nigerian drummer Babatunde Olatunjiwho conceived one of Santana's famous s drum jams, " Jingo ".

InSantana organized a reunion with past members from the Santana band for a series of concert dates. CBS records released a year retrospective of the band's accomplishments with Viva Santana! That same year, Santana formed an all-instrumental group featuring jazz legend Wayne Shorter on tenor and soprano saxophone.

They toured briefly and received much acclaim from the music press, who compared the effort with the era of Caravanserai InSantana left Columbia Records after twenty-two years and signed with Polygram. InSantana hired jam band Phish as his opening act. Santana kicked off the s with a new album Spirits Dancing in the Flesh in This was followed by Milagro ina live album Sacred Fire in and Brothers a collaboration with his brother Jorge and nephew Carlos Hernandez inbut sales were relatively poor.

Santana toured widely over the next few years but there were no further new album releases, and eventually, he was even without a recording contract. However, Arista Records ' Clive Daviswho had worked with Santana at Columbia Recordssigned him and encouraged him to record a star-studded album with mostly younger artists.

Eckland others. However, the lead single was what grabbed the attention of both fans and the music industry. The track's energy was immediately apparent on radio, and it was played on a wide variety of station formats. The music video, set on a hot barrio street, was also very popular. Supernatural eventually shipped over 15 million copies in the United States, and won 8 Grammy Awards including Album of the Year, making it Santana's most successful album.

Carlos Santana, alongside the classic Santana lineup of their first two albums, was inducted as an individual, into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Green was inducted the same night. Santana's acceptance speeches described his feelings about music's place in one's spiritual existence. InSantana's guitar skills were featured in Michael Jackson 's song "Whatever Happens" from the album Invincible. Although the album was not the runaway success its predecessor had been, it produced two radio-friendly hits.

The honor is given to a creator who has been "a unique and indelible influence on generations of music makers. InHerbie Hancock approached Santana to collaborate on an album again using the Supernatural formula. Also, infellow Latin Album) Shakira invited Santana to play the soft rock guitar ballad " Illegal " on her second English-language studio album Oral Fixation, Vol.

Santana's album All That I Am consists primarily of collaborations with other artists; the first single, the peppy " I'm Feeling You ", was again with Michelle Branch and the Wreckers.

InSantana appeared, along with Sheila E. He also teamed again with Chad Kroeger for the hit single " Into the Night ". InSantana was reported to be working with his longtime friend, Marcelo Vieira, on his solo album Acoustic Demoswhich was released at the end of the year.

It features tracks such as "For Flavia" and "Across the Grave", the latter said to feature heavy melodic riffs by Santana. With a 2. Santana is featured as a playable character in the music video game Guitar Hero 5. A live recording of his song "No One to Depend On" is included in game, which was released on September 1, Saturday 22 May Sunday 23 May Monday 24 May Tuesday 25 May Wednesday 26 May Thursday 27 May Friday 28 May Saturday 29 May Sunday 30 May Monday 31 May Tuesday 1 June Wednesday 2 June Album) Thursday 3 June Friday 4 June Saturday 5 June Sunday 6 June Monday 7 June Tuesday 8 June Wednesday 9 June Thursday 10 June Friday 11 June Saturday 12 June Sunday 13 June Monday 14 June Tuesday 15 June Wednesday 16 June Thursday 17 June Friday 18 June Saturday 19 June Sunday 20 June Monday 21 June Tuesday 22 June Wednesday 23 June Thursday 24 June Friday 25 June Saturday 26 June Sunday 27 June Monday 28 June Tuesday 29 June Wednesday 30 June Thursday 1 July Friday 2 July Saturday 3 July Sunday 4 July Monday 5 July Tuesday 6 July Wednesday 7 July Thursday 8 July Friday 9 July Saturday 10 July Sunday 11 July Monday 12 July Tuesday 13 July Wednesday 14 July Thursday 15 July Friday 16 July Saturday 17 July LP 18 July Monday 19 July Tuesday 20 July Wednesday 21 July Thursday 22 July Friday 23 LP Saturday 24 July Sunday 25 July Monday 26 July Tuesday 27 July Wednesday 28 July Thursday 29 July Friday 30 July Saturday 31 July Sunday 1 August Ventura has an almost Dickensian appearance in repose.

But once he picks up his saxophone, the years fade away as he builds solos that still have the swagger and drive that made him a standout with the Krupa band. Hearing him now, one realizes that he is the last of the saxophonists who managed to be both keystones of the swing era and portents of things to come.

Ventura's playing seems quite contemporary even though it has remained basically unchanged.


Cremathory - Vulnerant Omnes, Ultima Necat (Cassette), Armoire - Gotainer* - Lintégrale (CD, Album), On The Backs Of Angels - Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn Of Events (CD, Album), Doh Wah Diddy (Doh Wah NRG Remix) - Fun Factory - Doh Wah Diddy (Remixes) (CD), Ill Always Be There For You (Instrumental) - Anquette - Ill Always Be There For You / Janet Reno (V, Last Chance - Swingin Utters - The Streets Of San Francisco (Vinyl, LP, Album), Walou (Radio Version) - Outlandish - Walou (CD), Prostitude, Burnout 101 - Man Manly - Zurich Opus 2 (CDr), T.W.B. Era - Kościey - T.W.B. Era (CD, Album), Delilah (Delilahs Theme) - Ellis Marsalis And Branford Marsalis - Loved Ones (Cassette, Album), Still In Love With You - Thin Lizzy - Live And Dangerous (Vinyl, LP, Album)